Some Islands 1: 2022                    
    Read/Download
    Video Series
    Interview Series

Some Islands 2: 2023
Some More Islands
Collective:
     Adrian Young
     Aleš Rajch
     Brett Cranswick
     Cameron Hapgood
     Fiona Sprott
     Godfrey Baldacchino
     Helen Bromhead
     Jai Pamnany
     James Smith
     Jennifer Galloway
     Johnathon Larsen
     Ken Bolton
     Martin Gibbs
     Melinda Gaughwin
     Míša Hejná
     Nicholas Jose
     Ole Wich
     Olive Nash
     Oliver Rozsnay
     Peter Bakker
     Prudence Hemming
     Rebecca Taylor
     Rebekah Baglini
     Richard Harry
     Thomas Reuter
Some Some
Some Info

Collaborators:
      Joshua Nash
      Fiona Sprott  
      Jason Sweeney


Some Islands Publications

Call For Articles

Mark

Some Islands
A journal of linguistics and art



Number 2        •     REPRESENTATION



ISSN 2653-5602


Published in 2023 by Some Islands, West Cronx, South Australia 5008, Australia


Editor

Joshua Nash
jahewangi@hotmail.com


Designers

4FE - 4th Floor Elevator
Eric Bagnara and Dexter Campos
4th.floor.elevator@gmail.com


© Copyright remains with the authors


Front image: Looking toward Thevenard, Denial Bay, South Australia, image Some Islands, 2023


Some Islands Collective is based in South Australia and acknowledges the traditional owners of the lands on which the work of all Some Islands’ authors and artists takes place.


Some People



All images by individual authors unless stated


Adrian Young younga@denison.edu — images from archives of University of Witwatersrand, South Africa, 2007

Aleš Rajch ales.rajch@yahoo.com.au — music copyright Aleš, co-performers Alex Tsiboulski and Asher Reynolds; date and place as listed in links; images Adelaide, South Australia, 1993 and 2003

Brett Cranswick brett.cranswick@hotmail.com

Cameron Hapgood www.sadbad.group — design renders 2023

Fiona Sprott writer.sprott@gmail.com — images Adelaide (Kaurna) and Quorn (Nukunu), South Australia, 2023

Godfrey Baldacchino godfrey.baldacchino@um.edu.mt— drawing Marsaskala, Malta, 2023

Helen Bromhead h.bromhead@griffith.edu.au — images Brisbane, Queensland, 2023

Jai Pamnany jaipamnany@gmail.com — images Adelaide, South Australia, 2023

James Smith jimps246@gmail.com — images St Kilda, South Australia, 2023

Jennifer Gallowaygalloway_jenny@yahoo.ca — images Canadian Arctic, Canada, 2010-2018

Jonathon Larsen jonathon@artbytes.com.au — paintings Daylesford, Victoria, 2023

Ken Bolton kenzobee49@gmail.com — images, Bruny Island, Tasmania, 2020

Martin Gibbs mgibbs3@une.edu.au — images copyright Gibbs and Some Islands, Pitcairn Island, 1998 and 2016

Melinda Gaughwin melinda.gaughwin@unisa.edu.au — images Redfern and Chippendale, Sydney, 2022.

Míša Hejná misa.hejna@cc.au.dk — images Cardiff, Wales, 2022; České Budějovice, Czech Republic, 2016, Philip Island, Victoria, 2016; Cardiff, Wales, 2016; Petřín, Prague, 2022; Aberystwyth, Wales, 2022; Lány, Czech Republic, 2016

Nicholas Jose nicholas.jose@adelaide.edu.au — images copyright Some Islands, Innes National Park, South Australia, 2020

Ole Wich wichole@gmail.com — images Faroe Islands, 2023

Olive Nash contact the editor — images Wingfield and surrounds, South Australia, 2023

Oliver Rozsnay oracler2@protonmail.com — images  Bush Stone-Curlews and Masked Lapwing, Healesville Sanctuary, Victoria, 2018; Rock Nuthatch, Sikamineas, Lesbos, Greece, 2016; Daphne, Scotts Creek Conservation Park, South Australia, 2018; Bird's Nest, Poltalloch, South Australia

Peter Bakker linpb@cc.au.dk — images Aarhus, Denmark, 2023

Prudence Hemming pruehemming@adam.com.au — images Adelaide, South Australia, 2023

Rebecca Taylor bec.taylor.11@gmail.com — images Adelaide, South Australia, 2023

Rebekah Baglini rbkh@cc.au.dk

Richard Harry richardharry3@gmail.com — paintings Adelaide and Wollongong, 2016-2022

Thomas Reuter thor2525@gmail.com — images Bali and Indonesia, various years



Some Islands 3  •  2024  •  Call for articles


Theory


The Some Islands project continues. Some Islands 3 is already in the thinking pipeline. Theory can be described as a system of ideas arranged to explain something, particularly that based on general principles independent of the thing or matter being characterised and clarified. Authors are invited to submit 5,000-6,000-word articles with generous audio-visuals on the theme of theory, that tricky explanatory possibility, and those complex abstractions we love here at Some Islands. All disciplines welcome. More details to follow. Soft deadline: 30 June 2024. jahewangi@hotmail.com

Mark